Car that runs on saltwater

Motanache

Joined Mar 2, 2015
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencet...60mph-2-8-seconds-just-approved-EU-roads.html

If the topic seems not seriously it can be removed.
The first question is if you think it is a good or not good idea?

Next thing it is to realize this experiment at a smaller scale to note if is something useful.
For example, I think at construction of such element that has to light up an LED.

For now I am studying how to build such a galvanic elemet(battery, rechargeable battery).
If anyone knows how it can be built and please post, explain.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
The usual misleading (old) POP-SCI article.
https://qz.com/261450/this-sports-car-runs-on-saltwater-but-its-no-threat-to-tesla/
It’s a shame, then, that the makers of the Quant e-Sportlimousine had to put their amazing saltwater battery in a car that, should it ever hit the market, may cost about $1.7 million, making Tesla’s Model S luxury electric car look like a bargain at $70,000 to $95,000.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flow_battery
https://web.wpi.edu/Pubs/E-project/...2715-125923/unrestricted/MQP_Final_Report.pdf

Last edited:

Motanache

Joined Mar 2, 2015
A simple calculation:
Gasoline: 44MJ/kg at 0.76Kg/l
Battery with salt water: 100Wh/Kg

Otto efficiency 30%.
Efficiency for electrical power converted into mechanical energy (electrical motor): 50%

Gasoline and saltwater appear to be comparable in Km traveled/Kg fuel.

"It’s a shame, then, that the makers of the Quant e-Sportlimousine had to put their amazing saltwater battery in a car that, should it ever hit the market, may cost about $1.7 million, "
Are they justified these amounts?
Is it really so high costs for such a battery?

Last edited:

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013