Capacitor with speakers

josepars

Joined Nov 28, 2018
hi everyone
what is the function of the capacitor which is connected via speaker? How to use it and how to select its value?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The purpose of the capacitor in series with the loudspeaker is to block DC current which could potentially destroy both the amplifier and the speaker.

You have not provided enough technical information in order to determine the required capacitance and voltage, i.e. low frequency falloff, supply voltages, power output, speaker impedance.

Without knowing the above data, 1000μF / 50V aluminium electrolytic capacitor is a good starting point.

josepars

Joined Nov 28, 2018
there is 8 ohm 2 watt speaker. How to connect the capacitor polarity and how to make its calculation? Also, I am new in this subjects how can I learn this point in electronic?

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
ADVANCED PHOTONIX INC AP5668 is a 3-channel 2.6W audio amplifier.
Are you building this yourself from scratch?
Max supply voltage is 6V.

220-470μ 10V capacitor will do.
Negative polarity goes to the speaker.

Consult the manufacturer's datasheet and application notes for proper connections.

Edit: This amplifier has inverting and non-inverting outputs. In other words you can bridge the outputs and no series capacitor is required.

josepars

Joined Nov 28, 2018
How did you determine the Farad value? Speaker has + and - polarity.Where should I connect the capacitor ?How can I learn these details about electronic?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Look at the datasheet.
Left channel speaker + connection goes to VoLP.
Left channel speaker - connection goes to VoLN.

Right channel speaker + connection goes to VoRP.
Right channel speaker - connection goes to VoRN.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
For series capacitance calculation, you can use any value capacitance. Only the low frequency response will suffer.