Can Someone Explain What All This Stuff Is?

Max Holdcroft

Joined May 12, 2024
Hey all,
I'm looking at the datasheet for the ISP_BLE_5S1057, specifically the AX variant, and when looking at the example they provide I am completely dumfounded by all the extra stuff they have on the schematic. I'm very new to the whole world of PCB design, so if someone could help I would greatly appreciate it!
I've attached a screenshot of what I mean.
Thank you everyone!
Max :)

Attachments

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
Yes, high frequency RF is not simple, even if you use chips.

Designing a board for that chip is not for beginners because, at those frequencies, layout is critical. I have designed dozens of boards but would not even think of designing one for that chip The manufacturer likely published a reference design. Use it.

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
There is a 32.768 crystal that is the time base for a real time clock.
There is a 32mhz crystal for the computer.
L1 and two capacitors is a filter for 2.4ghz. This connects to the antenna. It is a band pass filter to pass the RF on the right frequency and remove unwanted harmonics, for transmission. It is also used for the receiver as a band pass filter.
L2, L3 and capacitors are to filter the power going to the radio. It removes the noise from the computer on the power.
There are a number of capacitors for power supply filtering.
This IC has several different functions that need to be kept separate.

The PCB layout is difficult.

Max Holdcroft

Joined May 12, 2024
Yes, high frequency RF is not simple, even if you use chips.

Designing a board for that chip is not for beginners because, at those frequencies, layout is critical. I have designed dozens of boards but would not even think of designing one for that chip The manufacturer likely published a reference design. Use it.
Hey,