Can I modify this LED circuit?

lucem

Joined Sep 20, 2017
Greetings,

I’m a beginner with LED circuits so I’m hoping someone can help me.

I have a 9volt, 9 LED light that works great. The problem for me is that it has a LOW/HIGH/OFF switching circuit. I’d like to modify this so it only goes from HIGH to OFF.

Is there a jumper or mod to this existing circuit that could achieve this?

Thanks for your help.

lucem

9ledPic.jpg

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I don't see the switch. What kind is it?

Can you sketch out the circuit.

It's probably pretty easy to do what you want, but the devil is in the details.

lucem

Joined Sep 20, 2017
*Bernard - Thanks for the suggestion. I shorted R2 and got an overall light boost on both settings, but still low-high-off. Shorting the one marked 10R didn't do anything.

*WBahn - I believe the switch is irrelevant, I swapped it out with a standard on/off and still got low/high/off. I don't have a schematic, but I tried to trace out the circuit as best as possible... these things are quite tiny!

I found that the 6 pin IC is a 9920 High Power LED driver, but I'm not sure what the 8 pin IC is.

D1 is probably a diode.
I believe the 1210 and the 2302 are possibly varistors.
But I have no idea what the 15P and the 228 are.

Thanks for your help.
9ledPicS.jpg

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
If you now have a switch that only has two positions, how are you getting three modes of operation?

How are you changing between the three modes? Sounds like the mode selection wasn't done by the switch in the first place, in which case the devil is even more in the details of how this particular circuit works.

My guess is that the 15P is a 15 pF capacitor and that the 228 is also a capacitor, but that would make it a 2.2 uF cap, which seems a lot for a chip capacitor that size, but they do make them.

lucem

Joined Sep 20, 2017
I believe the 8 pin IC is doing some logic counting, switching amongst the 3 values - 0-1-2. Any idea how that can be modified?