can circuit boards be programmed to ones requiments?

VivianAnto_d

Joined Feb 3, 2016
hello!
I'm a mechanical engineer doing a mini project related to my field involving electronics.Im done with the mechanical work but I have questions related to electronics part. I need a circuit which can convert a value from one unit to the other form. (to convert value from 'cm' to 'mm' / to convert a value from kg to litres) and display the new value on the screen. I have heard that the circuit boards can be programmed to work for ones reqirements. Is there any circuit board which can be used in my projects?
1)If the input value is '10cm' , I need a programmable circuit board which can convert it to mm as'100mm' and display the final value on the screen.
2) Input value =100kgs
output value required=100litres(just for example)
Display vaue =100litres

VivianAnto_d

Joined Feb 3, 2016
hey thanks for reply.!
I know that the units are completely different but I need something which can do that work.
The input value in my experiment will be in kgs whereas the output should be in litres.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
What is the fluid or solid being measured?
For water 1kg = 1 liter.. no conversion necessary..

To answer your question a bit more..
Yes.. you can create a device that has a screen, some buttons and a microprocessor and then you would write software to burn onto the micro to perform whatever functions you want..
Or many other ways..
And yes there may be an off the shelf unit that incorporates all that and again you would write software to perform whatever functions you want..

DNA Robotics

Joined Jun 13, 2014
An Arduino Uno and an LCD shield should do it. It is an easy to program tiny computer.

The New Arduino Uno R3 - Arduino is the Industry Standard‎

If the input value is '10cm' , I need a programmable circuit board which can convert it to mm as'100mm' and display the final value on the screen.
A command like Output = Input * 10 will convert it for you.