Can a circuit of 16 LEDs be made with 4 AA batteries powering it?

Sarah808

Joined Oct 18, 2017
Hi, I'm new to this forum, looking for help! please could someone tell me whether it's possible to make a circuit with 16 leds attached to 4 x AA batteries? Am attaching the spec of the LED's... man at maplin had very good intentions I'm certain but his suggestion hasn't worked. I'm a complete novice with electrics, the circuit is for an art project... please assume I'm an absolute idiot and explain as basically as possible if poss!! Thanks very much.

Attachments

philba

Joined Aug 17, 2017
No way to easily make a string but you can do it by running the LEDs in parallel. You will need a resistor per LED to control the current and the 6V (4X1.5) battery pack will be about 1/2 wasted. You could use 3 AA bats (4.5V) to the same effect. You will get a bit more than 4 hours of run time.

What color LEDs are you using? Different colors will need a different value of resistor. And the resistor also depends on the battery pack (3 vs 4 AAs). Answer those questions and we can tell you what resistors to get.

Solder the resistor in series with each LED. Connect each resistor to the longer leg of the LED. Then connect all the unsoldered resistor leads to the + terminal and the shorter LED leads to the - terminal. I would include a switch to shut it off when you don't need it.

If you don't know soldering, you'll need to find someone to help you.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!

What color(s) LED did you purchase? How long do you want them to operate on battery power? What is more important, brightness or operating time?

If you operate at low enough current, you might be able to have 8 strings of 2 LEDs with 8 current limiting resistors. If you use a switching regulator, you can boost the 6V from 4 AA batteries high enough to operate two strings of 8 LEDs.

Sarah808

Joined Oct 18, 2017
Thanks philba,