Calculate MMF in order to achieve a flux density in the specimen plate of 0.5T - Help Please

phil_ndt

Joined Nov 17, 2017
Hi all,

New to the forum, however i have been finding it very useful and insightful with the amount of helpful information on here. I am studying electronic principles and need some assistance with the following question as I am having some troubles nailing it down:

The electromagnetic steel yoke shown in the figure below
10 mm wide and is used as part of an inspection system to scan plates in a large power plant to detect wall thinning and other flaws.
upload_2017-11-17_15-32-21.png
Calculate the magnetic moving force (MMF) in each part of path of the circuit in order to achieve a flux density in the specimen plate of 0.5T assuming no leakage flux (30 marks) (A magnetisation curve is provided below)

upload_2017-11-17_15-33-7.png

I could really use some help and some insight on how to tackle this please as I am having a lot of trouble finding the required information in the course literature.

Thanks in advance :)
Phil.

topple1992

Joined Nov 28, 2017
Im also struggling with this, although this exact question is given on the TMA on the eddy current module
if you have any luck getting an answer on this please give me a shout

phil_ndt

Joined Nov 17, 2017
Hi all,

New to the forum, however i have been finding it very useful and insightful with the amount of helpful information on here. I am studying electronic principles and need some assistance with the following question as I am having some troubles nailing it down:

The electromagnetic steel yoke shown in the figure below
10 mm wide and is used as part of an inspection system to scan plates in a large power plant to detect wall thinning and other flaws.
View attachment 139515