C Rev counter- Need help with the Timer and Counter PIC18F252

dmorey85

Joined Jul 22, 2015
I am currently trying to programme a Rev Counter running between 15Hz and 200Hz using a PIC18F252. I am unsure how to programme the timer port and the counter port so that it is measuring the input square wave from the rotating part over a second and counting the revolutions. I know there needs to be an interrupt to reset them both after 1 sec. The display will be on a 4 digit seven segment display.

I have no experience in and form of computer programming at all and I would be happy if anyone can give me advice on the calculations and the coding itself.

If there is any information you may need to help just ask and i will try my best.

Thanks

Dave

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
Well... If you haven't any programming experience, may I suggest an Arduino? I believe you would find it way easier to implement than starting with an out-of-date PIC, even in C.

If you do have some PIC code written, post it using CODE tags (mouseover the toolbar and find 'Insert') and a schematic and we'll take a look.
I don't want to discourage you but bringing up a PIC from scratch with interrupts and a display multiplexer would be a formidable first project, even with some programming experience. Most start with just flashing an LED.

BTW, the link just came up in a search. I don't know if the project is real or not but would give you and idea of how your project would come together. Arduino does have lots of canned routines that make things easier for a beginner. You are looking for some sort of frequency counter scaled to provide RPM or whatever and format the result for a display.

All of that said, we are here to help and welcome to AAC! Quote this, click 'Like' or tag @JohnInTX so we'll know if you reply.

Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You might need 5 digits if displaying rpm. 200Hz is 12000rpm.
A 1 or 2 lineLCD display might be a better choice.