Best product for measuring emitted wifi signals from any device

serious_electron

Joined Nov 9, 2023
Hello,

I am an electronic hobbyist, basically a noob, trying to research into the field of rf/wifi signal hacking, protection. I am looking for best ideal device that can measure the accurate frequency/bandwith/channel of the emitted wifi signal from any device (laptop, mobile, tablet) etc.

I came across one such device named “ GQ EMF 390 “ RF detector

I am not sure if its accurate enough to detect the signals with some distance and will it be able to detect higher frequency bandwidth like 6-7ghz wifi 6e? Not sure if it even gives the exact frequency of the detected signal (like 2.4ghz, 5.8ghz etc)?

My primary reason is to know if any device (be it laptop, mobile, tablet, or even regular consumer electronics like light bulbs, refrigerators, light sockets, remote controllers etc) have any rogue wifi or any other built in “hidden” rf transceivers to capture and transmit audio/video etc covertly.

Or is a spectrum analyzer more accurate and can give correct reading of the frequency of the emitted signal from any rogue device? If yes then which model can one suggest?

Thanks.

serious_electron

Joined Nov 9, 2023
My main focus is to analyse what kind of “UNWANTED” wireless signals are emitted from various “rogue” and “compromised” devices. Primarily when someone is a “target” for unauthorized data exfiltration (high profile hacking), I noticed that even air gapped systems (like laptops, notebooks, mobiles, tablets etc with every wireless card and lan adapter physically removed) are able to emit radio/gsm or other forms of signals to capture and transmit audio and video data to and from nearest wifi router/device along with giving full access to compromised machine itself by the hacker in real time. Which means the hacker virtually has full control over the system in real time, the moment victim opens the lid and push the power on button.