Battery Holder melting

scottschaller

Joined Jan 21, 2018
Hello, I am relatively new to electronics and I am building a RC rover. The brain of the rover in an Arduino Mega board with two stacked Adafruit v2.3 Motorshields. To power the rover I purchased 18650 3.7V LiIon batteries which I am using in a three pack so the overall voltage remains under 12V which is the max voltage for the motors and motor shield. In all of my testing the batteries preformed as expected. It was only after removing the battery pack from the drone and setting it on the table did the holder begin to glow and smoke - within 5 seconds! I yanked all of the batteries and there was no visible damage to the batteries, but the spring in the battery holder connected to the negative wire was blackened and brittle and snapped off when I pulled on it. The spring was pushed together tightly and it was glowing. The battery pack was wired in series and the batteries were correctly installed (it had been working a few seconds earlier for many minutes without heating up or being a problem). Has this happened to anyone else? Could the battery have pushed back on the spring and created a short within the wire coils? Is that even possible (I have the image of a car cigarette lighter in mind which looked similar to what the battery coil looked like)?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
What kind of table did you set it on? Metal? Was there anything on the the table that could have shorted the pack terminals?

scottschaller

Joined Jan 21, 2018