Basic 555 Water Level Sensor - Is it safe for fish?

joaopdmdias

Joined Mar 19, 2017
Hi guys!

I think this is my first post and I'm a beginner regarding electronics, in general. So I want to build a water sensor for my fish tank, the water evaporates rather quickly and I need to add water twice per week. The tank is small (30 liters), and the amount of water need to add usually is 1,5/2 liters.

So in order to automate this procedure, I've tried the circuit in the image below, using a 555 timer as a comparator and 2 BC547. Instead of using a LED to indicate the water level is low, I'm going to use a 12V DC water pump.

circuito sensor agua.jpg

My main question is, since I'm using a probe made of 3 wires, is it safe to put in the water with livestock? I will protect the probes so fish wouldn't to touch it, but even though I'm not sure how safe it will be. Could you please help me out? I've tried the circuit in a glass of water and works as intended.

Do I need to limit the current from the circuit or the current is so low that doesn't make a difference?

Best regards,
João Dias

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
I don't know whether 12V is safe for fish but maybe you could shield them from the voltage by making the VCC 'probe' a metal mesh basket which encloses the other two probes. If your circuit has no other connection to ground then the fish would see no voltage.

joaopdmdias

Joined Mar 19, 2017
Hi Albert!

Thank for you help. I've made a drawing to try visualize your suggestion, but it seems almost the same I was planning to do with a PVC pipe, in order to keep fish away from the probe.

IMG_20220219_232753.jpg

Did I drew right or did I misinterpreted?

I think I need to provide at least 8V or 9V because of the minimum requirement for the BC547.

joaopdmdias

Joined Mar 19, 2017
What is the requirement of BC547 that needs 8V?
One should be able to have a circuit working even below 5V.