AT89c51 programmer

harikanaidu

Joined Nov 28, 2014
HI,
I am new to AT89c51 MUC.I have used keil for coding to the controller.BUt how to burn this code to the controller.I don't want to buy the programmer....How to design my own programming circuit..

harikanaidu

Joined Nov 28, 2014
can u explain me the circuit ...why we should use only 22pf capcitor at crystal....why every controller needs an external crystal......use of PSEN....use of reset circuit

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
can u explain me the circuit ...why we should use only 22pf capcitor at crystal....why every controller needs an external crystal......use of PSEN....use of reset circuit
Second question first. NOT EVERY controller needs external crystal. In the past 5 years manufacturers started making controllers that don't need external crystals. However, older and today cheaper microcontrollers still use external crystals. 89C51RD2 is not exactly old, but it has been on the market for the last 10? 15 years?, when it was developed the normal procedure was to use external crystals.

First question now. The crystal that you buy will have specification in its datasheet of what value capacitors to use. Whoever designed that circuit found the crystal they liked, read the crystal datasheet, saw that the crystal needs 22 pF capacitors and put those capacitors into the schematic.