Arduino LED strip (transistor?)

majhi

Joined Jul 2, 2014
I am starting work on a project that will use a pot and an Arduino Uno to control the brightness of a 12v LED strip. Unfortunately I have no experience with this (yet) so I have no idea what I'm doing (yet). The LED strip is 3m of 5630 LEDs with a recommended current of 8A. I have a 12v 10A power supply in front of me.

I'm looking at this tutorial (http://itp.nyu.edu/physcomp/labs/mo...o-control-high-current-loads-with-an-arduino/) which says I need a transistor if I'm powering a motor, but not if I'm powering a lamp. All the other tutorials I found are for RGB strips whereas mine is just one color, thus this tutorial was the closest thing I could find.

So here's what I think I need to do, which may or may not be accurate:
Use the wall wart for the DC jack on the Arduino.
Splice a negative wire into the power supply and run that to the negative on the LED strip.
The positive from the LED strip connects to ???

So do I need a transistor or not?

As for wiring in the pot, I'm sure I can figure that out. I haven't researched it yet, though, because I'd like to just do one step at a time.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Are you going to use the PWMed AnalogWrite port pin on the Arduino to control the brightness of the LED strip?. If so, an NFET is the best way to pulse the LEDs.

Do the LEDs already have built-in current limiting?

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
You can use the barrel connector of the arduino and apply your 12v from the power supply. The on board voltage regulator connected to the barrel connector will convert your 12v to 5.

The output pin of the arduino goes to the base of the transistor. The emitter goes to ground. The collector goes to the cathode (K) of the LED that you are controlling. The LED anode connects to the current limiting resistor or constant current source (the current limiting is likely internal to the LED strip). The resistor connects to the 12v power supply rail.

majhi