Another Guitar Amp Need Help w Fix

ColoradoRobert

Joined Jan 22, 2016
Because of it's age, I replaced 5 of the largest standing capacitors because they were electrolytic and they say after 10-15 years you should. I also found a Motorola IC chip that had broken in half and a fired 10 ohm resistor. But even after replacing these the amp will not work right. While I am a novice I have learned a few things. I've gone across the board and checked most of the IC's (leg 8 but a few that were different according to the schematic) and they read 15.5vdc consistently. So how do you narrow down the problem area? I thought that would do it but it revealed nothing that I understand. The amp just makes an awful noise when turned up and has heavy distortion and will not get loud like it should. I did unplug the pre-amp side from the power board and the modulation sound was very quiet (very low hiss). I'm looking for suggestions at this point and attached the schematic. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

Last edited:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
See all those "TP"s on the schematic? Those are places you can test to see if the proper voltage appears there. I'd start at the power supply rectifiers and start moving forward.

A broken IC indicates some pretty serious damage, probably from mechanical impact. I'd look carefully at the PCB in that area for cracks or damage to the traces. Parts supporting that IC may have been shorted or overloaded as well.

ColoradoRobert

Joined Jan 22, 2016
Thanks for the comment wayneh. So what concerns me is the voltage at some of those locations. TP1 for example = do they mean somehow check it with the wire connector on it or the wire connector removed from it and then just touch the male sticking up off the board ?DSC02388.JPG DSC02389.JPG

ColoradoRobert

Joined Jan 22, 2016