Adding protection to my circuits

narkeleptk

Joined Mar 11, 2019
I am a bit new to designing circuits so bare with me please. I'm trying to improve on one of my older projects I made to assist in my daily work. Currently my original version works great stand alone but its lacking a few features that would be nice.

I will be adding a usb connector and ftdi ic to access the mcu's UART instead of icsp header I use currently. I also want to try and add a dc/dc step up from the usb to about 12v to supply the units I'm working on. Is this feasible? Typically 12V 1A is needed. I was thinking of the LM2623. I have just started on the schematics so all I have on the power side so far is below but this got me thinking I better start learning about protection since I will be attempting to add different power sources before I continue.

My guess would be to add some protection diodes between vbus coming in from usb and on 14vdc coming in from j1 and maybe on a2 and b2 on sw so b2 doesnt feed back through a2 when jacks not being used? Any advice?

supply.jpg

Last edited:

Wolframore

Joined Jan 21, 2019
USB "power supply" (not USB downstream device) can supply up to about 2 A @5V max... but stepping up to 12V check [edit] pwoer law... see what the relationship is when P = I x V. as currrent and voltage has inverse relationship holding P constant... also consider efficiency boost converters are lower... This looks like the standard Arduino power supply which I don't like because of the lack of reverse protection at VCC. So easy to blow out the regulator.

It would be better to have a separate 12V supply instead of in essence taking 120V converting to 5V (USB supply) then boost to 12V. Do you need the USB connection for some reason?

Last edited:

narkeleptk

Joined Mar 11, 2019