6W (i guess) mini bass guitar amplifier design issues

Snortuff

Joined Dec 20, 2023
Hello everyone, I am new to the circuit world. Now i am trying to design a mini bass guitar amplifier with my almost no knowledge

I have lots of basic components, especially the JRC4558, I know its not so good for audio but I have a lot of them so I wanted to use them.
For speakers I have 2 cheap speaker exciters (3W 4 ohm each) which I am planning to use both in the same panel.
Last but not least, if the circuit can work with a 9 volt battery it would be perfect.

I draw a simple circuit but now I can not calculate the component values for driving the exciters. I don't know how to calculate the output wattage.
I could not find a dual opamp in LTspice so I drew 2 op amps in series. Can this circuit work? and how can i calculate the component values for the exact output that i need?

Attachments

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Must be one of those big 9V batteries that they don' t make any more.
A humble PP3 is only 0.5Ah. 6W/9V=0.666A, so it might last you about 45 minutes.

As for the circuit, why do you have the pickup shorted out?
The first stage looks acceptable, but I'm not sure what you were trying to achieve with the second.
Is this meant to drive a power amplifier? Because a 4558 won't drive a speaker directly.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
I have lots of basic components, especially the JRC4558, I know its not so good for audio but I have a lot of them so I wanted to use them.
You can't use just the opamp. Ordinary opamps can't sink/source much current.

You won't have much output swing with a 9V supply. If you add a class AB stage on the opamp output, the battery will limit available power.

Attachments

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
When designing an audio amplifier, there are a few things that you need to consider, power and impedance matching.

The pickup is a low power high impedance device. You need a proper preamplifier for this.