555 toggle and dual timers pulling current when toggle is off

Ross Satchell

Joined Jan 2, 2017
Hi,
I am working on a project that uses a 555 timer with a tactile push button to create an on/off toggle.
The toggle then drives another 555 timer set up in astable mode for a 1Hz pulse. This 1Hz pulse then drives another 555 timer set up in astable mode at 8Hz. That in turn drives a NPN transistor (2N4401) that drives 6 LED's.

The idea is that it strobes the LEDs for about 1 second on an off.

I measured the current when both toggled on and off. When on it pulls about 20mA, which seems fine. But when it is off it pulls about 4mA, which is a problem. I'm still pretty new to this, so I can't understand why it's pulling current when it's supposed to be off. I think it might have something to do with the wiring of the transistors that are driving each of the 555 astable circuits, but I really don't know.

The other thing is that I can drive the toggle from 5V, but the 2 astables won't run on 5V, but they do run on 9V. Is there a way to get change the wiring to get the whole circuit to run on 5V?Schematic_v1-0.png

I've attached a image of the schematic I am using

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
The 555's take several mA when idle as shown below:
upload_2017-9-11_12-15-31.png

The LMC555 CMOS version takes much less current (below) so you may want to use those if you are concerned about quiescent bias current:
upload_2017-9-11_12-18-7.png

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
When you try to run your circuit from 5 volts, the final NE555 timer can't run on the small remaining voltage available...
Why? The first NE555 timer (IC4) only puts out 5 volts minus about 1.5 volts. The first transistor drops another 0.7 volts from that giving about 2.8 volts to the second timer (U5). The same losses happen in the second timer circuit leaving no voltage to run the last timer much less the LED's.