555 and led, need battery life to last longer

Vender

Joined Jan 4, 2024
Hello, I am a total hobbyist and know very little about electronics, but I try. I made a LED on a switch that stays on for six hours when I press a button then resets waiting for another press. I used a 555, capacitor and resistors. The problem is the 9 V battery dies in three days. How could I make it last much longer? I was going to use a smaller LED and try to make it flash? Could I somehow use the 555 to make it flash also? Thanks all72540247584__4013EE1B-B390-4E57-86FA-5FC6B8FE9DD0.jpeg

KeithWalker

Joined Jul 10, 2017
The simplest solutions are:
1. Use a higher value resistor in series with the LED so that it draws less current.
2. Use a larger battery.
That is all I can suggest without seeing a circuit diagram.

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019
A schematic would help….
A high output LED could run at lower currents, extending the battery life, but a 9v battery does not have much capacity to start with.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
The problem is the 9 V battery dies in three days. How could I make it last much longer? I was going to use a smaller LED and try to make it flash? Could I somehow use the 555 to make it flash also?
A schematic would be helpful.

If you're not using the 555 to make the LED flash, then you don't need the timer.

LM3909 will flash LEDs with just a capacitor and the LED with very low drain on the battery. But it wants to operate from 1-5V.

Attachments

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
S.C.H.E.M.A.T.I.C . . .

And - what is the exact part number of the 555 you are using. There are two basic types, bipolar and CMOS, and there is a large difference in how much energy the chip uses internally to function. If you are using the bipolar 555, changing to a CMOS version will increase battery life.