5.1 receiver stuck on subwoofer mute.

Thread Starter

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
89
Hi there everyone! I must have tried everything in the settings and diagnostics of the service manual for this Yamaha Model: HTR-3063 or RX-V367 to get the subwoofer output working. Ive tried setting the subwoofer to Yes and speakers to small, etc...The Microcontroller is a R5F364AMNFB the S/W pin on this microcontroller is pin 80, it shows 3.4volts. It goes to Transistor Q2205 which reads 3.4v on all three pins B.C. and E in the first diagram, it should read -11.7v on the collector when off mute and 3.4v when on mute? From there the mute signal goes to Transistor Q209 on the next diagramYamaha SW Mute #3.png Yamaha SW Mute #1.png Im wondering if someone knows if I can somehow cancell the muting signal for just the subwoofer? Maybe if I remove a resistor in the mute signals track? As you can see circuit theory isnt my Forte! Thats why Im asking for advice before I wreck it. This amplifier had been working great until I moved house a few months ago, I bought it new on special for only $225. I contacted Yamaha to speak to a tech but they couldnt help me except to sell me a new digital board for $220. I tried to upload the service manual for the amplifier but its too big @ 16.5MB, size limit is 10MBs. Ive diode tested the SMD transistors with a DMM and they are all good. Any help I can get to fix this will be appreciated for sure.
 

Attachments

Thread Starter

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
89
Im getting ""No Result"" when I enter my receiver model number HTR-3063 into the Yamaha firmware search to download it? Ive sent an email to Yamaha to see if it is available and if I can in fact download it? I tried entering the American model name for this receiver RX-V367 as well!
 

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
16,114
Im getting ""No Result"" when I enter my receiver model number HTR-3063 into the Yamaha firmware search to download it? Ive sent an email to Yamaha to see if it is available and if I can in fact download it? I tried entering the American model name for this receiver RX-V367 as well!
Yeah, I have a Yamaha RX-V663 and was able to find a firmware upgrade once after a laborious search. I think they don't want users doing it because they certainly make it difficult to find them. I think there's also a hard reset protocol that doesn't require a firmware upload. Do you have the service manual?
 

Thread Starter

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
89
Yeah, I have a Yamaha RX-V663 and was able to find a firmware upgrade once after a laborious search. I think they don't want users doing it because they certainly make it difficult to find them. I think there's also a hard reset protocol that doesn't require a firmware upload. Do you have the service manual?
Yes I do have the service manual. You are certainly right about them making it hard for consumers to work on their own gear! I got a reply from Yamaha saying that special tools are needed and only a specialist from Yamaha can do this firmware update? I replied that I have the service manual and Im quite capable of doing this re-installation without any special tools except for a CD player. He sent the upgrade without any explanation? Ive read the instruction manual that came with upgrade but it appears to be just an upgrade for 3D movies? They certainly make it hard alright!
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
89
My adventure into these murky waters is detailed here. I can't guarantee your process will be similar but maybe you can pick up a few tips to help.
Thanks for that mate, I tried a few more things but no luck! I tried the YPAO set-up, the external Subwoofer didnt even come off the red LED light? I got a warning (W1) for an out of phase surround speaker but not the subwoofer? I checked out the surround speaker, its not out of phase at all. The Owners manual says that is normal with some speakers? What gets my goat is that Yamaha support (Now thats an Oxymoron) can help me so easily by sending me the original Firmware! Yamaha are in effect holding the firmware as hostage so that Im compelled to use their repair shops, when I can do it myself in 10 minutes. As far as Im concerned that firmware is part of the receiver I bought and I have a right to repair my own gear. Anyway, in the first diagram I posted, you can see the bottom transistor Q2205 has -11.7v on the collector, mine reads 3.4v So if I can get -11.7v on that collector the subwoofer problem would be fixed wouldnt it? Going by the schematic, -11.8v is going to pin 4 on IC27 in the second diagram and there is -11.7v on the base of Q209 but I cant work out that part of the schematic? What does (&6) on those two transistors mean? The subwoofer signal goes from IC27 via Muting transistors Q208 and Q209 directly to the subwoofer RCA output plug. The muting signal 3.4v goes from pin 80 on the Microprocessor to Q2205 base in the first diagram then it should be -11.7v going from Q2205 collector to Q209 base (in the second diagram) instead of the 3.4v it has on the collector now. Can anyone see a way out of this mess? lol
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
89
QUOTE="wayneh, post: 1279676, member: 96035"]Not me. These things are WAY too complex for my meager skills.

Is this not what you need?

https://usa.yamaha.com/support/updates/45294_en.html[/QUOTE]
Im not sure if thats what I need? It is supposed to be just an update for 3D movies, when I downloaded and extracted the Zip file I noticed it was 12.9MB in size? Would that be the complete Firmware with the update added on because it seems fairly big for just an update?
 

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
16,114
Im not sure if thats what I need? It is supposed to be just an update for 3D movies, when I downloaded and extracted the Zip file I noticed it was 12.9MB in size? Would that be the complete Firmware with the update added on because it seems fairly big for just an update?
I don't think these are ever incremental updates. The file is the entire firmware. That's part of the 'benefit' of performing the update - it completely cleans out any problems with the previous installation.
 

Thread Starter

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
89
I finaly found the time to update the firmware today. The update went OK but it made no difference. I went through the set-up and re-did it all again by the book to the receivers defaults. Subwoofer (Yes) Front Speakers (small) Center (Small) Etc...etc.. So thats about it I suppose, unless someone who knows better than me how microprocessors work can tell me how I can get -11.7 volts on transistor Q2205s collector, instead of the 3.4v on the collector now, or how to turn the S/W mute off somehow?
 
Top