2N6027 PUT/UJT based SCR control circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by tech1962, Nov 28, 2016.

1. tech1962

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 28, 2016
    Hello all,
    My first post here ...and thanks for all the helpful info on this forum. Its excellent.

I am simulating a circuit before building as shown in attachment. I've never used PUTs before but have now read about them a bit.
    The PUT part is driven by a sinusoidal signal, and the SCR is also. The circuit aims to control the brightness of the LED/lamp via phase control switching. Nothing too trickey.

What I dont understand is how to avoid multiple triggering of the PUT and SCR within one cycle.
    Ideally, it should fire once per cycle and then switch off until the next cycle.
    but since everything is driven by the sinusoidal input, it seems that the threshold drops with the input signal and re-triggers.

I was hoping someone with experience of these devices could fill me in on how its done.
    Thanks,
    tech1962

• sim1.PNG
      sim1.PNG
      File size:
      318.2 KB
      Views:
    DickCappels likes this.
  2. DickCappels

Aug 21, 2008
    Do us a favor -change your LED to a light bulb because we cannot discuss LEDs being powered directly by the mains on this site.

It is not clear that multiple triggering during a given half cycle is a problem since the SCR would continue to conduct from the first firing until the zero crossing.

If you are still concerned about it, derive the triggering voltage from the voltage across the SCR. That way, the triggering voltage won't be able to be greater than the voltage across the SCR until the end of the half cycle and a second trigger pulse cannot be generated during the half cycle.

tech1962 likes this.
  3. tech1962

Nov 28, 2016
    Thanks for your reply Dick,
    I should have emphasised...the input sinusoid signal is only 8V peak...as in the simulation. This is an low voltage educational circuit...not a high voltage circuit.