24 Volt Inverter

TP201

Joined Nov 15, 2014
Is it possible to attach an inverter directly to the output of an alternator or do you need batteries as an intermediate?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Since the alternator output is rectified AC you can drive a DC-AC inverter from it. You may need some low-pass filtering if the inverter is fussy as to its input quality.

TP201

Joined Nov 15, 2014
The inverter specification says Input voltage 24V - minimum21V maximum30V. Is that fussy? What do I use for low-pass filtering? The wiring specifies a 100A fuse from the power source. I am very new to this. I want to make sure I don't fry/damage the inverter in any way. Thank you for your reply

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
The inverter specification says Input voltage 24V - minimum21V maximum30V. Is that fussy? What do I use for low-pass filtering? The wiring specifies a 100A fuse from the power source. I am very new to this. I want to make sure I don't fry/damage the inverter in any way. Thank you for your reply
Most alternators are 3-phase, so by the time its rectified there isn't a huge amount of ripple - you could try about 4700uF and go on from there.

Some of the last of the British motorcycles were marketed as trials bikes - with no battery. They just had a relatively modest electrolytic capacitor after the alternator/rectifier so the ignition coil could have a dwell time.

debe

Joined Sep 21, 2010
If its a vehicle altenator it will need some sort of battery, as they don't self excite like a generator.

TP201

Joined Nov 15, 2014
If its a vehicle alternator it will need some sort of battery, as they don't self excite like a generator.
It is a self exciting 24 volt alternator with an internal voltage regulator for an excavator.

Its run by a 3 hp briggs and stratton engine. I just got it running today and haven't tested its output yet but the alternator is rated at 40 amps.