24 and 12 Counter Problem

Thread Starter

pbwc

Joined May 14, 2024
1
Hello,im student and i must finish project.I should make clock with IC's and i created signal,second and minute but my problem i cant make 24 or 12 counter for hour.When i show on display i see 0,1,2...24 after AGAIN 2 why cant i see 0.I watched all counter videos in yt.In 12 counter i see 0 1,2..12 after that 2.I changed all components and no change
 

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
9,186
Hello,im student and i must finish project.I should make clock with IC's and i created signal,second and minute but my problem i cant make 24 or 12 counter for hour.When i show on display i see 0,1,2...24 after AGAIN 2 why cant i see 0.I watched all counter videos in yt.In 12 counter i see 0 1,2..12 after that 2.I changed all components and no change
We need a schematic to see how you’ve wired your counter.
 

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
21,304
With two, decade counter chips, you can display 00-23 and decode the output, 23, so you can reset it to 00 when the minutes are 59. So what is the problem?
 

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
30,292
With two, decade counter chips, you can display 00-23 and decode the output, 23, so you can reset it to 00 when the minutes are 59. So what is the problem?
That depends on whether he is doing a synchronous or an asynchronous rest -- which underscores why we need more information, preferably a schematic.
 

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
17,110
Welcome to AAC!
I should make clock with IC's and i created signal,second and minute but my problem i cant make 24 or 12 counter for hour.
Are you allowed to use any IC's you want? Are you supposed to make a 12 and 24 hour clock.

FWIW, hours in a 24 hour clock don't display numbers 00 .. 23, not 24.

Are you breadboarding the circuit? Or just simulating. As others have already mentioned, we need a schematic and a description of what isn't working correctly.
 

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
21,304
...

FWIW, hours in a 24 hour clock [don't] display numbers 00 .. 23, not 24.

Are you breadboarding the circuit? Or just simulating. As others have already mentioned, we need a schematic and a description of what isn't working correctly.
Typing and thinking at the same time can be a challenge. It happens to me all the time.
 
Top