20-yr Old Tamarack Attic Fan - Troubleshooting Crouzet Synchronous Motor, Etc.

attticfan

Joined Jul 15, 2019
Hi All,

Let me open by explaining that I am a novice when it comes to troubleshooting failed electrical appliances/components.

That said, this is my first time posting and I'm looking forward to whatever assistance folks are able to provide.

I am the owner (and original installer) of a no-longer-supported c.1998 Tamarack Technologies Inc. "HV500" Whole House Cooler (a.k.a "high efficiency attic fan") which, sadly, has ceased operating. The unit consists of a power relay, a synchronous motor (which is connected to two countering rotating pusher arms that, when operated, open and close the insulated hatch and actuate two limit switches, one of which cuts power to the hatch motor and sends power to the fan while the other of which, I believe, cuts power to the power relay to shut everything off), the aforementioned limit switches and the aforecited fan, all housed in a custom two-piece molded plastic (I'm guessing PVC) enclosure. Note: the above supplied links point to the currently available replacement components and don't necessarily detail the currently installed components. For instance, the synchronous motor currently installed in the unit was long ago discontinued which prevented me from supplying a link to it (so I supplied a link to the modern-day comparable part).

Having removed the unit from the attic, disassembled it, cleaned it, researched the availability of replacement components and done my best to test the existing components (all of which, I might add, are readily available off-the-shelf analog parts) I have determined the following:
  • when everything is connected and the hatch in the 'closed' position (which results in one pusher arm pressing on one of the two limit switches) and I send power to the power relay, it actuates but nothing else happens;