(2) Sources (1) AC (non-constant??), (1) DC to provide (1) DC constant output, is it possible??

Status
Not open for further replies.

MoodSwinger

Joined Aug 16, 2022
Hello, I am very new to electronics, at least the build-up of components and much of the correct terminology. I am going thru the education tab and I have tried to search the forums in ways I thought would get results, so please if there is a thread for this, please link it here, not intending to multi-post topics. Thanks in advance.

What I want to know / do is... take power from a generator source, and a direct source and combine them to a constant output. With the power from the direct source supplementing the power from the generator. IE if the Gen can provide 70%, 30% will be pulled from direct. If the Gen falls to 50%, 40%, 30% the direct feed would compensate to maintain constant / consistent output. Granted once "up to speed" I don't think it would very that much, but it was more for example purposes.

constant source would initiate the process.

Can this be done?

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

It would be invaluable if you‘d describe the problem you are trying to solve with the circuit you are asking about. THe application answers a lot of questions by itself and also may raise questions in the mind of the experienced which you may not have known to ask.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
If you are talking about line voltage, you should probably not be trying this, and indeed, it is probably illegal to do this yourself. The power company would have to approve any such installation.

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Direct source in this case would be a home 220 outlet.
In that case don’t do it - you’ll kill someone.
imagine what would happen if there was a power cut, and your generator was still running. What would happen to someone working on the line to fix the powercut?