2 channels buck a boosted 5 to 3.3 ok?

Harley Burton

Joined Jan 1, 2018
I'm working on a project where my Arduino Nano needs 5V, and I'm using a networking module (ENC28j60) that should run at 3.3V.

My power source is an 18650 Lithium (3.7V nominal), so I'm currently boosting that to 5V with a boost converter module.

The Arduino has a 3.3V supply, but it can't deliver the current that the ENC module needs, so I need to get that 5V supply down to 3.3V. My inexperienced knee-jerk solution was a voltage divider, but I've learned that, for obvious efficiency reasons, that is a bad idea for a battery powered project. My next idea is to use another converter, a buck converter this time, to bring the signal down.

However, some part of me says that, since the boost is basically storing energy and "surging" it out to achieve boost, and the buck is basically going to build a PWM signal and smooth it with capacitance, they may not play well together. I'm not experienced enough to really know how that interaction will play out.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Harley Burton

Joined Jan 1, 2018
I'll add, for anyone who may find this looking for the same information, in case no more experienced members reply...

In theory (theory being, in this case, what I think) it should be fine. At the end of the day, a good boost converter is delivering a steady DC signal at a given voltage. That being the case, there shouldn't be any significant interactions with the buck converter on the output of that signal. It's highly likely that this question is a ridiculous one, and this is the way things are done all the time.

I have tested it, and in my setup (3.7V lithium cell -> Chinese boost converter (dialed to 5V) -> Chinese buck converter (dialed to 3.3v)) all signals look good under a 250mA-300mA load. I see no ripple at all. There may be some harmonics if I had a way to look at that, but I don't expect that would be something to care about.