1957 Ford Pickup Radio Capacitor Changeout

hotrodjohn71

Joined Jun 15, 2024
Hi group. If I have posted this question amiss, or if it is not appropriatefor the forum, please advise. I am a novice in the electrical field. Thank you.

I am changing a capacitor in an AM radio from a 57 Fird Pickup. The cap was made by Bendix and is # L220353-4.
It appears to have one (-) and 2 (+) and 2 additional mounting legs.

I watched a tutorial where it was replaced by (2) modern caps achieving the same outcome, but not utilizing the (2) mounting legs of the original capacitor.

Im trying to determine what those (2) modern caps are so I can procure and install them, or if a suitable substitute exists.

Here are some photos. A couple are from the tutorial.

I hope Im not being too vague.
Thank you

Attachments

hotrodjohn71

Joined Jun 15, 2024
Thank you ericgibbs.

I saw those caps on ebay also.

I think that I read somewhere that the issue with those caps is that age is the enemy. They are supposedly oil or paper tyoe and have a purpensady to dry out over time.

The capacitor in my radio is old, but the cap on ebay might be almost as old although never installed.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
Thank you ericgibbs.

I saw those caps on ebay also.

I think that I read somewhere that the issue with those caps is that age is the enemy. They are supposedly oil or paper tyoe and have a purpensady to dry out over time.

The capacitor in my radio is old, but the cap on ebay might be almost as old although never installed.
Old stock is certainly a possibility, and the newer caps are probably a better choice. As for the unused mounting tab locations, some times they also served to provide connections to other PCB traces. So I suggest tying all three mounting tab holes together just in case. But avoid causing any shorted circuits.

hotrodjohn71

Joined Jun 15, 2024
I apologize for being so vague.

The old caps in the picture above are 'outside foil' wax caps.