12v LED dimmer 'relay'? (Add more LEDs to existing LED dimmer circuit)

fognozzle

Joined May 24, 2021
Hi, newbie here, I'll try to be descriptive yet concise!

My car has LED dashboard instrument lights, dimmable by a push button that cycles through 6 brightness levels. It remembers separate day and night settings.

I want to add a number of switches and gauges to the car that all contain LED illumination intended for a 12v circuit. I'd like to get them to follow the instrument lights, rather than use a separate dimmer.

I don't know how to interface the two circuits, or what voltage the instrument lights are running at (I assume they are being PWM, but I've just about reached the limit of my electronics ability). The instrument lights have a ULN2003A chip, and SMD LEDs that each have a 1k resistor. I've attached flyleads in parallel to an LED+resistor and my basic autoranging DMM reads the following, if it helps:

1 (max): -3.6v
2: -2.7v
3: -1.7v
4: -0.7v
5: 0.0v
6 (min): +0.8v

Thanks in advance for any guidance!

fognozzle

Joined May 24, 2021
Thanks ElectricSpidey, and apologies for taking so long to get back here! I wanted to check out a couple of things and draw up a diagram, and it took a bit longer than expected.

The existing lights appear to use a constant +12v 'rail' equal to the battery voltage, and are dimmed on the ground side. The switches are most easily used the same way (but could conceivably be wired differently).

The gauges are wired the other way, and have a dedicated +12v illumination input with a common ground internally. So it seems like my ideal solution will be something like this:

dashlights.gif

I have ordered a couple of TC4420 to play with. Am I right in thinking I can just wire the IC directly into my circuit, and the output will just 'pulse' at the same rate and duty cycle as the input signal?

ElectricSpidey

Joined Dec 2, 2017
Ok, I'm going to get back with an update.

Some questions in the meantime.

Did you confirm it's PWM?