12v fridge had 240v power through 12v socket.

Thread Starter

rayota_power

Joined Nov 25, 2023
3
Hi All,
Snomaster Traveller portable fridge . . . big mistake.
Has had 240v cable inserted into the 12v socket and powered up.
The 12v socket fuse blew, and continued to blow after replacement.
When compressor controller was disconnected, fuse was ok on power, 12v and 240v.
Power supply seems ok, but controller not.
It's very hard to find replacement parts for these fridges.
So I thought I'd give the Secop BD35F style controller a go, (pretty sure not genuine).
All put back together and the unit immediately gives a 3 flash error.
The compressor bumps and stops, fan works, then after about 60 seconds tries to restart.
Same on 240v and 12v.
The windings on the compressor show about 1.4 ohms on all pins.
Also have tried most of the trouble-shooting tips I can find but still stays as this.
Would the 240v input damage the compressor?
But most of the threads make it seem that the compressor could still be ok.
And, I don't know if this generic approach to the compressor controller is a good idea.
Any thoughts if I am wasting my time on this.
Thank you.
 

debe

Joined Sep 21, 2010
1,389
Theres 2 types of controlers depends on which you have. Assuming its this one first, Was your replacement controler a new one? Simple easy test is remove all the connectors. Feed 12V DC to the indicated terminals, then bridge C & T. The compressor should run. If it doesnt then the controller is probably faulty. A Secop or Danfoss controler should work as they do the same jobDANFOSS CONTROLER. RUN..JPG
 

drjohsmith

Joined Dec 13, 2021
850
A saying about fuses,
They are mainly there to minimise chance of a fault causing a fire,
Generally speaking, the electronics fries, then that causes the fuse to blow,
QED, all the electrics in the fridge is very likely to be dead,
 

Pyrex

Joined Feb 16, 2022
237
Hi
open the controller and inspect the PCB ,components and make a photo. Do not hesitate to use pliers, drill or a hammer. It is already completely defective
 

Thread Starter

rayota_power

Joined Nov 25, 2023
3
Hi everyone,
Thank you very much for taking the time to reply.
debe, tried your suggestion, but no luck.
Yes, it was new, but not genuine, from Ebay.
I contacted Snomaster directly and Ricardo says the Danfoss unit not compatible.
And have to use genuine part.
The only other information I can find regarding the compressor is:
66 watts and 5.8-2.9 amps, see photos.
So now trying to find a similar fridge to swap over the controller to test.
IMG_7565.jpgIMG_7566.jpgIMG_7567.jpgIMG_7568.jpgIMG_7569.jpgIMG_7570.jpgIMG_7571.jpgIMG_7572.jpgIMG_7573.jpgIMG_7574.jpg
 

Thread Starter

rayota_power

Joined Nov 25, 2023
3
Well, Ricardo was correct.
We loaned a Snomaster controller and it's working fine.
The information I got from previous forum posts helped greatly.
Most important was that most posts point to compressor as not the problem.
So, same here.
Thanks again everyone.
 
Top