12V DC Motor with internal stop limit sensor

rickinbay1

Joined Feb 27, 2021
I have a power seat motor that I am using for another application. I have the motor, momentary switch and related moving pieces. The motor contains the two expected power supply leads but also contains a three wire internal sensor that sits adjacent to a magnet on the motor. What I don't know is what that sensor actually is as well as to what and how I would wire it. My guess is that the momentary switch signals a polarity reversing relay to provide forward and reverse power to the motor and that the sensor reads a lack of rotation when the seat has reached it's limit, causing another relay (or another relay within the relay) to cut power. Would somebody be so kind as to help me understand any additional parts I would need and how to properly make this motor and it's sensor work as intended? I am not an engineer but rather one of those people that loves to tinker with things of all sorts. Thank you. I have attached pictures of what I have.
20210227_031830~2.jpg20210227_031722~2_resized.jpg20210227_031750_resized.jpg

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
The sensor will probably be a Hall effect sensor which as you suspect sends pulses back to to the BCM in the car cuts the power to the motor if it does not see any pulses for more than some pre-determined time. The simplest way for you to use it would be to use the pulses to trigger a retriggerable monostable with a suitable time constant. You will need to trace out the schematic for the sensor board to try to determine the connections to it. (Or measure the voltages with respect to ground on the connections to the sensor module with it in it's original position in the car.)

Les.

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009