Diodes

milly molly mandy

Joined Sep 4, 2008
To the Administrators,

Re your request for "proofreading" for your Introduction to Diodes, I've just noticed that on about the 10th line down, it says that when forward-biased, the Diode is like a switch that is off. This is wrong isn't it? I'm only a beginner, so I could be mistaken.

Thanks for all your excellent articles anyway which have really helped me. I'm about to see if you can clarify me a little in your various articles on pnp and npn stuff and those funny things called "holes" . I've tried other text books, but my head just spins, and basically I can't understand how they can say that the holes move, when really it's just the electrons moving in the opposite direction..Mmmmmm. Maybe tomorrow I'll ask on your forum too.

Another thing is, I agree with you that its really ridiculous letting all those old fogeys make us think in Conventional Current terms, it's like being forced to believe in a ridiculous old heathen religion, even when you know it's all made up. And what's more, being forced to think in 2 opposite directions, when only one of them (electron flow notation) is the correct one is downright crazy. I like the way you put those electron flow black arrows under your diode diagrams, that really helped me to perceive it all a little more clearly,

Last edited:

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
T

Thanks for all your excellent articles anyway which have really helped me. I'm about to see if you can clarify me a little in your various articles on pnp and npn stuff and those funny things called "holes" . I've tried other text books, but my head just spins, and basically I can't understand how they can say that the holes move, when really it's just the electrons moving in the opposite direction..Mmmmmm. Maybe tomorrow I'll ask on your forum too.