Can anybody suggest a free circuit simulator?

CaptainJohnson

Joined Feb 20, 2008
Hi everyone,

I need to design a dc-dc converter. I already chosen two chips from Maxim (Max685 and Max8614). My problem is that I can't find a proper circuit simulation tool to verify my design. I used to design analog chips by using Cadence Virtuoso custom design platform in the college. This is my first time to design a pcb circuit rather than a chip, so I extremely wonder there is any easy to learn tool to be used by me as a beginner.

Cheers.

Spark_36

Joined Mar 3, 2008
Yes, thanks ever so much.

TINA-TI was really the thing for me. With fragmented knowledge and little practise, it's best to start from the beginning.
I do have a copy of ElectriCAD (AutoDesk) and also a few others, but it will take a while i can see.... lol

Very grateful !

S.

dileepchacko

Joined May 13, 2008
you can use the demo version of NI's multisim circuit simulation

http://www.analog.com/en/design-tools/dt-multisim-spice-program-download/design-center/index.html

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

The website does not mention expiring of the demo.

Without a license, NL5 operates as a Demo version. In the Demo version many features are not available, and the number of components in the schematic is limited (currently to 20). However, the Demo version allows simulation of old schematics with an unlimited number of components, although it does not allow any editing or saving of those schematics.
While the Demo version is quite suitable for students and amateurs, professionals might consider obtaining one of the following full-function licenses:
Free 30 day Trial License — Provides full functionality on a single PC for 30 days. The license can be issued for a specific PC only once. Use this license to explore NL5's possibilities. Learn more and order…
Greetings,
Bertus