Yes, another DC UPS question :-)

DocHopper

Joined Apr 13, 2012
Hi. I'm pretty new to electronics and this is only my 3rd post here. I have looked all over the site and the Google for help with what I'm trying to do and I'm stuck. What I want to do is essentially make an emergency light. But, I want to use some old, unused 5v wall warts as the start.

I want to use 2 NiMH battery to drive a LED (I know this works as I've tested it). I want to have the device plugged into a specific location in the house (top of the stairs, etc) and do a constant trickle (float charge?) on the batteries, and then when the power goes out, have the light come on using the batteries as the source. I figure a couple of triple A NiMH batteries would hold the LED on for plenty of time to find a real flashlight.

I know this is possible, but my lack of electronics background is getting in the way. I'm just a hack hobbiest :)
So far, I have the wall wart hacked apart, with the +5v leads ready to start working on it. Does anyone have a circuit they could share that would point me in the right direction? I've tried a couple I found on the internet but they didn't seem to work as expected (meaning at all). I'm not sure if it's the circuit or my limited knowledge.

Thanks in advance.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
The simplest circuit is a relay powered from the mains , that keeps the cells charging until the mains fails.

Here is one way, note put a series resistor for the led current.

relay-for-led-emergency-light.jpg

Last edited:

DocHopper

Joined Apr 13, 2012
The simplest circuit is a relay powered from the mains , that kerps the cells charging until the mains fails.

Here is one way, note put a series resistor for the led current.

View attachment 147630