XD2PA22 Joystick to control forward and reverse motor

Pockets1

Joined Oct 5, 2023
Hey

I have zero experience in circuits but my son has his leaving cert project and needs some help.. So thanks in advance for anyone who can help.

We bought an XD2PA22 (https://www.amazon.com/XD2PA22-Position-Joystick-Momentary-Switches/dp/B083VT8GCD) 2 direction joystick switch and would like to use this to control forward and reverse on a small motor

i have managed to get it to power a motor in both directions but i need to have the voltage reverse when forward and back positions selected.

researching i think i need a reversing relay, but the diagram boggle me.. the switch only has two outputs and i have no clue what i should be looking for.

any advise and very basic drawings would be great if anyone can help

ThePanMan

Joined Mar 13, 2020
First, welcome to AAC.
We bought an XD2PA22 (https://www.amazon.com/XD2PA22-Position-Joystick-Momentary-Switches/dp/B083VT8GCD) 2 direction joystick switch and would like to use this to control forward and reverse on a small motor
the diagram boggle me.
Let's start with some facts: I'm assuming this is a DC motor. If so - and you want the motor to spin one direction when you push the stick forward but you are getting it to spin in the opposite direction - simply reverse the two wires on the motor.
Another fact is that if you want to discuss the wiring diagram but find it boggling to the mind then perhaps we should be speaking with your son. After all, it IS his project.
Still another fact: actually a question; "What diagram?"

ThePanMan

Joined Mar 13, 2020