Wireless frequency control for 555 timer

corasan

Joined Jul 18, 2023
What could be a better way to wirelessly control the frequency of a 555 timer with a potentiometer as an input? I thought of using a varactor diode to change the frequency by adjusting bias voltages on the varactor's cathode. Also, can you recommend 4-bit ADC and DAC IC models for this design? My idea is to wire the potentiometer to an ADC to serve as the digital input of the HT12E module, then transmit it via a 315MHz RF module. The decoder then receives the signal, then the DAC converts it into the bias voltage of the varactor. This is my first time building a wireless circuit, so I might be missing some important concepts. I wanted to ensure the feasibility of the idea before buying the components, so please suggest if there's anything I can improve.

Here are my key components:
Potentiometer
ADC
HT12E (encoder)
315MHz RF module
HT12D (decoder)
DAC
Varactor

Attachments

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Hmmm. Probably simpler to build a voltage-to-frequency converter- or directly synthesize the signal using a microcontroller.
A varactor is only going to change a few pF in capacitance, (look at the datasheet)

If you must... try a digital pot or a Vactrol (LED and CDS cell) as a variable resistor instead.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
Your parts list:
Potentiometer
ADC
HT12E (encoder)
315MHz RF module
HT12D (decoder)
DAC
Varactor
Parts list with microcontroller:

Potentiometer
315MHz RF modules
2 x Microcontroller

Plus, much more flexible and accurate, and easy to add additional functionality.

Last edited:

corasan

Joined Jul 18, 2023
Your parts list:

Parts list with microcontroller:

Potentiometer
315MHz RF modules
2 x Microcontroller

Plus, much more flexible and accurate, and easy to add additional functionality.
I am well aware of how this circuit may be simplified using microcontrollers. However, I am trying to design the circuit using ICs only.

corasan

Joined Jul 18, 2023