What would make a shaft vibrate at a frequency twice its RPM?

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
I'm trying to balance a rotatating drum on a prototype machine I'm building, and I have never done any dynamic balancing before. Most people use accelerometers for this but I don't have any so I'm using Piezo flex sensors with little overhung weights (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9197). I have them held in my scope probes and just taped the probes onto the bearings on either side of the shaft. I'm running the motor (4 pole) on 50Hz so I expect to see a 25Hz waveform on both ends corresponding to to the imbalance. I do get the expected 25Hz on one end but on the other I get 50Hz.

Is this due to the small weight on the piezo sensor vibrating at a multiple of the vibration frequency seen at the bearing? Or is it possible that the bearing itself is actually vibrating at 50Hz? If it is the bearing then how would that be possible?

Attachments

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
My son is a mechanical engineer studying vibrational analysis techniques. He says his first guess would be looseness in some of the mechanical components such as the pillow block.
Thank you MrChips & MrChips_Jr (MrVibes?).
I can say that everything I can tighten, is tight. There may be more than optimal slop in the bearings themselves as well as shaft collars, etc.; all this stuff is el-cheapo parts from SurplusCenter as well as parts I've pulled out of scrap bins over the years. Also the frame of the machine is unistrut that is strong but not that rigid; maybe the flex has the same effect as looseness.

Misalignment can cause 2x rpm vibrations. Looking at the first picture it seems you drive it from the left. If so, that is where would think the 2x would show up.