What should be the order of high-pass and low-pass filters in an audio amplifier circuit?

ISHRAQ6251

Joined Aug 24, 2023
Hey guys I am a real noob at circuit designing. Here is an amplifier circuit I put together for a center channel subwoofer of a 2.1-channel USB-powered speaker system that I am planning to build. I basically made this circuit by binge-watching YouTube videos and following the IC's datasheet. Now I am in great confusion about the order of the sections labeled 1,2,3 in the image. Should the low pass go before the high pass or the preamp should go after the high and low pass, I don't know! Please help me out with it and please take a look at the circuit design for any flaws. I greatly appreciate any feedback you share.Schematic_TDA2822M Bridge Mode Circuit_2023-08-25.jpg

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
The order is normally calculated from a set of requirements like the following:
  1. What is the maximum allowable attenuation in the passband? e.g. 0.5 dB in the passband.
  2. What is the minimum allowable attenuation in the stopband? e.g. -60 dB or better in the stopband.
  3. What is the width of the transition band? e.g. transition band of 3 KHz.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Why do you think you need filters?

I would start by trying the circuit with your speakers and no filters. If it sounds like it needs some filtering, start with 1st order filters if it sounds like you need steeper response curves, increase the order of the filters.

It usually does not matter which filter goes first but it a good idea to put the preamp before the filters.

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
My speakers sound good that is why I have never used bass and treble filters.
Your filters can be used to cut lows and highs so the output sounds like a muffled old AM radio or old telephone.

The low output power TDA2822 is obsolete and is not made anymore. You might find a Chinese copy that might work poorly.

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012