What is this thingamajig called? And where can I buy it?

ptrisja

Joined Feb 17, 2019
Hi smart people!
I'm very new to all of this circuit board stuff (sorry in advance for all the wrong terminology), however I love a challenge, so I've taken it upon myself to repair some lab equipment.
For those interested, this is what I'm repairing:

I've already repaired 2 of these, using a third one for spare parts. However I would also like to try and repair the third one.

So... What I'm looking for are some spare parts, more specifically these things:

They are a type of switch, where when you push from the side, the metal thing presses down a button (here in red), which flicks a cobber-part to activate a circuit and start a rotor (that will suck up liquid). All of the faulty ones I have are broken in the plastic, which has ruined the circuit, and super-gluing them hasn't really been successful.

Anybody know what they are called, and where to buy them? I've found some on pages like Aliexpress, but only AC, which I'm not sure will work.
The ones I'm replacing has the stamp "0.1A5VDC", so I'm guessing I need them to be 100mA, 5V and DC compatible. Or can I stray from this in any way?

Thanks a bunch!
/Newbie (Patricia)

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

Those microswitches come in a lot of different sizes.
Also the lever can have different sizes and shapes.

Have you taken the size of the old switch?

Have a look at the attached Cherry catalog to compare the size you got.

Bertus

Attachments

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Are you sure the pipette has only on and off using a switch? The ones I’ve used are more like variable speed power tools - they allow a range of delivery speed.

ptrisja

Joined Feb 17, 2019
Thanks, you guys! This is super helpful! Looks like digi-key has them! :)