Wanting to build DC generator to charge smartphone

Electronoob12

Joined Aug 13, 2017
As the title says I'm trying to build a generator to charge my phone. I wanted to use features of quick charge so I want motor to output around 9 volts and 1.5 amps at least. I haven't found the motor I want so I have decided to go with this http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-12V-1-1-...133162&hash=item280254c244:g:5b8AAOSwcBhWT8ON I wanted to use
L7809CV voltage regulator. I would buy some gears to make the motor spin faster. I'm planning to spin it with my hands. Would something like this work? Would you guys change something out? I want to keep it pretty simple because I'm new to soldering and electronics in general but I figured this would be fun and useful to build.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
A DC motor when used as a generator will not produce the rated voltage and current. Those are the ratings for what it will consume as a motor, not produce as a generator.

Producing over 10W at the phone may require 20W at the motor after the various inefficiencies. (You could get more efficiency from a different regulator, but there are always losses.) Not many people can comfortably maintain 20W with their arms unless you have a nice arrangement, like a bicycle crank with comfy handles. A human is only about 25% efficient, so you'll be burning about 80W while cranking. You'll be converting your groceries to electricity. Just sayin'.

You might investigate the commercial dynamos they sell for bicycles. The old standard "bottle" dynamo was a 6W drag on the bike. You can feel that, but it's not too bad. These days there are hubs with a dynamo built in and they're very slick.

Electronoob12

Joined Aug 13, 2017
Thanks for your reply. I got inspiration from this video here