Voltage drops to zero on transformer as frequency increases

• Thread starter Deleted member 552872
  • Start date

Deleted member 552872

Joined Dec 31, 1969
I have looked at forum history and although there's lots of transformer posts, I cannot find this answer.

I am a semi-retired tech guy and getting back into discrete circuits as a retirement hobby and I do not remember if I ran in to this in my past (I'm nearly 60 and have not played around with circuits since 1991).

My function generator putting out a sine wave at 30 khz on a very small (physically small) step-up transformer that shows a step-up on the secondary of 160:1 at the 30khz frequency.

The transformer is not in a circuit, I'm testing it standalone, at this stage I'm trying to re-learn all the stuff I haven't played with for nearly 30 years.

So at 1 volt peak to peak out of my function generator, sine wave at 30 khz, I see 160 volts p-p on my oscilloscope (I am using a x10 probe by the way so the scope actually reads 16 volts p-p).

I don't remember what would cause the secondary's output voltage to drop from 160 volts p-p to only 500 millivolts p-p as I increase the frequency to 1 Mhz.

The output voltage also drops off as I *decrease* the voltage from 30khz. Again there is nothing attached to this transformer except the function generator on the primary, and the oscilloscope on the output of the secondary, so I don't know why it would have a resonance at any particular frequency.

I remember the notion of hysteresis, ie. loss in the iron core due to heat -- is that why my output voltage keeps dropping as I increase the frequency from 30khz to 1 Mhz?

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013
basically Yes.
There are losses due to eddy currents in the core of the transformer.
There are also losses due to capacitance of the windings.
And increase due to higher effective resistance caused by skin effect.

Deleted member 552872

Joined Dec 31, 1969