Voltage and current measurement in a simple circuit with LED

JohnyCage

Joined Dec 1, 2021
Hi, because of my son's new interest, I started playing virtual circuits. I created a simple flashlight with a saltpeter. I created this circuit in three different simulators. What was my surprise when I wanted to measure electrical quantities, voltages and currents and I found that the measured values differed significantly. I enclose a picture with a measurement. Where is the mistake please?all circuits.jpg

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

In the upper part of the picture, the multimeter is on 12 V AC.
Switch it to 3 V DC and see what happens.
Also, you are using a 1200 Ohm resistor in stead of a 220 Ohms resistor as in the other pictures.

Is this only in simulation or did you also test in real live?

Bertus

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Depending upon the model characteristics, the LED may have slightly different forward voltage drops at the same current in the different simulators.

You should build a real circuit and see how it compares with the simulations.
Note that a 5 to 10% difference between a simulation and a real circuit is not unusual.

ApacheKid

Joined Jan 12, 2015
The upper large image seems consistent, as bertus says you actually have a 1.2K resistor and with a current of 2.94 mA that would drop about 3.53v meaning the LED must be dropping 5 - 3.528 which is 1.472v.

I any of these circuits the LED voltage will always be 5 - (i x R) where's i is the measured current and R is the resistor.

In the bottom left image the current reading 22.73 mA is exactly what we'd expect if the LED was a short circuit, for that current to flow through that resistor (220 Ohm) means the entire 5v is across the resistor so perhaps you set that up wrong? did you somehow put the ammeter across the LED? (thereby short circuiting it).