VHF/UHF tv antenna design

Robsim

Joined Sep 6, 2016
Hi, i am a beginner in electronics, i want to design a VHF/UHF tv antenna in the frequency range of 40 - 800 mhz. What are the most reliable tv antenna design pages ?

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Does anybody use a TV antenna anymore? Oh, I see where you are.
My internet provider is also my cable TV provider.
And does anybody still have cable TV? (Oh, I see where you are).

I get streaming HDTV anywhere in my house over WiFi from my internet modem (and cheaper than cable TV).
Cable TV is so yesterday and rapidly disappearing due to declining customers, along with the decline in POTS service (do you also have a landline for your telephone?).
Cable companies here are eliminating cable TV as a separate service, and translating to being internet-only providers.

But there are still a few who get over-the-air free TV.
(I think there are a number of TV station OTA broadcast antennas still in operation, even in Canada).

Last edited:

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
My high-speed internet provider also provides my many-channels and world-wide cable TV, a many-channels recorder and an old fashioned telephone service with free long distance at a bundled low price. Now they are pushing adding security cameras and recorders.
A competing provider uses fiber-optics cables.

Robsim

Joined Sep 6, 2016
I assume you mean MHz.
Designing such an antenna is strictly for experts in antenna design.
If you want to build one, Ramussons reference looks good.
But why do you want to build one, when you can buy one?
Yes, i mean MHz. I don't want to buy one. I want to make one with durable materials

Janis59

Joined Aug 21, 2017
RE:"" in the frequency range of 40 - 800 mhz "" The Mission Impossible.