Variable voltage output with 5V input signals

egraham

Joined Mar 7, 2024
Hi, I'm relatively new to circuit design and I have a somewhat unique problem (or so I think). I have two 5V input signals from a microcontroller that I would like to use to control a user selectable output voltage (0-60V) from a DC power supply. Basically, if the user selects a 30V output, the program on the microcontroller will send a 5V signal for a specified duration to get 30V, then a different 5V signal for the same duration to get -30V. (There are also points where there is no signal from the microcontroller and the voltage output should be 0). I would like to do this with transistors since I need a pretty quick response time (no relays). Any ideas of where to start? Or is there a component that could do this much more simply?

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
I cannot understand what you want. You say you want to control a 0-60V output via two 5V signals. How does one select what voltage to output? Need more information. It sounds like you might be taking about a PWM signal, is that correct?

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
the microcontroller will send a 5V signal for a specified duration to get 30V, then a different 5V signal for the same duration to get -30V.
What do you mean "a different 5V signal".
Do you want it to alternate between +30V and -30V each time a 5V signal is seen?
Where is the -30V signal coming from?

egraham

Joined Mar 7, 2024
I cannot understand what you want. You say you want to control a 0-60V output via two 5V signals. How does one select what voltage to output? Need more information. It sounds like you might be taking about a PWM signal, is that correct?
Sorry I should have been more clear, one selects the voltage to output by selecting the voltage on the DC power supply. This power supply can then output the +/- of that specified voltage. Yes, similar to a PWM signal. The output would look like this1709836294943.png

egraham

Joined Mar 7, 2024