Variable Speed Forwad/Reverse DC Lathe Motor?

Sardis

Joined May 4, 2015
*Background info:
Hi, I am a machinist and I wanted to convert my lathe to variable speed. I Have been researching the idea and have come to some conclusions about what I need, but I do not have a full knowledge of how to do it.

I have obtained a broken treadmill and confirmed the motor works and is in good condition. (Pictures below)
-Treadmill motor- DC 90V, 15A, motor with 4800 rmp.
-current lathe motor-AC 110V, 11A, 1680 rpm motor.
I am planning on using the belt system to keep the max rpm under 1700.
It is mandatory that I be able to reverse the motor.

This is a list of thing I think I need: Bridge Rectifier, ON-OFF-ON switch, Variable speed switch (Link).
I did my best to make a circuit diagram of what I was thinking (Below).

*Questions:
1- Am I not incorporating some part that I need?
2- Should I put the on-off-on switch in region 1 or region 2? (diagram)
3- Is the bridge rectifier positive/negative specific?
4- If the rectifier is positive/negative specific is there anything I have to do different to be able to place the switch in region 2? (On DC Current)
5- Is there another type of hardware to use instead of the harbor freight router speed controller?
6- Do I need to take into account any other factors?

Thanks for your help!

111111111111111111111.jpg 22222222.jpg
lathe.png

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You may get away with doing it that method, but it is a little crude and does not give you the control of a DC controller such as made by KB/Baldor etc, these are readily available on ebay.
The offer the ability to set accel decel etc as well as inhibit terminals for reversing and resetting the drive when you do so, as you should not reverse these motors under power.
Max.

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
On a bare minimum of parts your circuit should work but the speed regulation under variable loads will likely be a bit poor.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013