variable power supply for research project

jobewon

Joined Jul 19, 2015
Gentlemen,

I could really use some assistance please.

I am working on a project as an amateur inventor.

I am not an electrical engineer nor do I pretend to be---that is why I am posting this call for help.

I need to know if there is a manufactured variable voltage, variable, amperage, and variable frequency DC power supply available for use in a test lab.

Before everyone tells me that I am a dummy and need to go back to school and all that stuff, I will explain the application.

I need to vary the output voltage from 0-18 volts DC.

I need to vary the output amperage from 0-30 amps.

I need to vary the output frequency from 0-40k hertz.

Why do you ask?

This is to set a voltage, amperage, and a frequency and take a measurement of the effect to manually build a graph to determine optimum voltage, amperage, and frequency for a electrolysis experiment I am conducting.

The output must be DC--polarity cannot change.

I need the power supply to plug into a normal wall outlet.

If one is not built commercially, is there any way to set this type of circuit up in a laboratory scenario?

Anyone's assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Things to clear up: DC can not have a frequency up to 40KHz..or even one Hz.
Therefore, you must be talking about at least 2 different functions.
Adjustable DC power supplies are rather common, but 30 amps is not common for lab work, so that is a special case.
You can obtain very powerful audio amplifiers, but they tend to stop at 20KHz.

Rough calculations suggest 190 watts at 40KHz. Definitely a custom job.

Last edited:

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Another point you may be confused on: A laboratory power supply can have two knobs; one to adjust the voltage; a different knob to set the current limit.