Using a TRIAC in a simple AC timed control circuit. Is it suitable?

Marcus2012

Joined Feb 22, 2015
Hi everyone.

I am designing a simple control circuit for an AC switch with a delayed ON duration. I have all the timing down and everything seems ok but I have no experience with thyristors or TRIACS so I was wondering if anyone here did. Below is my diagram so far and for the TRIAC I have adapted the thyristor symbol as unfortunately it isn't available. Basically I was wondering if a TRIAC is basically synonymous with a transistor but for AC and is it relatively simple to apply to my diagram with a DC driven gate on the TRIAC? Is this suitable for my purposes or would I be better of with some kind of transistor setup (I have researched this originally but couldn't find anything that worked well)? The supply it will be controlling will be high frequency @ max 12V 30A, the function generator in the diagram is just arbitrary at the moment.

All and any help would be appreciated

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Any reason you're not just using the 12V supply for all this? In other words, why the regulator? And the two forward-biased 1N4002 diodes are redundant. I could see the first one for reverse hookup protection (if there is any real risk of that happening) but the second one isn't necessary.

Marcus2012

Joined Feb 22, 2015
Any reason you're not just using the 12V supply for all this? In other words, why the regulator? And the two forward-biased 1N4002 diodes are redundant. I could see the first one for reverse hookup protection (if there is any real risk of that happening) but the second one isn't necessary.
I'm running multiple circuits from the same regulated supply its just there because of that as I copied and pasted that part. I just need a setup that can switch a AC current on command from the monostable output from the 555. Thanks for the diode suggestion I may have gone a bit far there lol.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008