Use my phone and NodeMCU ESP8266 to control LEDs

Hammad Imtiaz

Joined Oct 24, 2016
Hi. I would like some help with this project of mine. Basically, I wanted to use an android app to decide when to turn an LED, connected to my ESP8266, on or off via the touch screen. The app itself could be done using android studio, but what confuses me is that once I have the app ready, how do I use the app in tandem with the ESP micro-board? The only thing that comes to my mind is that if I use the app to store a value for the required state (ON or OFF) in a document online and have the ESP access that and read the value and apply the change to the LED.
However, I am a beginner at this so I'm really not sure how that would work practically.
Does anyone have any idea to achieve this? The end goal is to be able to control the lights from a phone app through the internet. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
You can do it with Bluetooth. Take a look at the HC05 module. They are available on eBay.

If you want to do it over wifi it becomes more complicated but there are modules for that too.

Hi. I would like some help with this project of mine. Basically, I wanted to use an android app to decide when to turn an LED, connected to my ESP8266, on or off via the touch screen. The app itself could be done using android studio, but what confuses me is that once I have the app ready, how do I use the app in tandem with the ESP micro-board? The only thing that comes to my mind is that if I use the app to store a value for the required state (ON or OFF) in a document online and have the ESP access that and read the value and apply the change to the LED.
However, I am a beginner at this so I'm really not sure how that would work practically.
Does anyone have any idea to achieve this? The end goal is to be able to control the lights from a phone app through the internet. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.