Use a 12V line to power 125V LED light

ZIOJOE

Joined May 14, 2021
Let me start with the fact that I have very little knowledge of electricity and wiring.

We bought a house with a ton of lights in the landscaping. In the last 2 years almost all have been going out and shorting, long story short we ripping them all out except for the main line coming from the house and buried in the ground.

The past owner has informed me that it's all 12V line, but I would like to buy some lights and attach them. I found some at Costco, but they say 125V. Is there any way to make this work? It appears that the controller/timer under the deck takes care of the voltage since it plugs into the regular outlet and the buried wire is coming out if it, but am I right in assuming that there's different wire for carrying different voltages, so ripping out the controller end and connecting a plug wouldn't be a good idea.

I'm willing to cut off the plug and splice the existing wire with the new lights if that will work, but I don't want to find out the hard way and not be able to return the lights. Thanks so much for your help, and I apologize for my lack of knowledge in this area, I'm probably wasting most of your time.

Here's the lights I'm considering

https://www.costco.ca/.product.100400023.html?&EMID=CA_EN_2021_0514_MacBookAir

Last edited by a moderator:

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Generally (weasel word, I know) outdoor 12 volt circuits can be in plastic conduits but 120 volt circuits need to be in metal conduits. If you don't have metal conduits, be prepared to change them or go find some 12 volt luminaires.

I know where I lived when I installed outdoor lighting they wanted me to obtain an construction permit (I know because a building inspector turned up to inspect other work on the property and mentioned it), so you might check with city hall, or better yet, hire a licensed electrician who won't have to learn as he goes.

ZIOJOE

Joined May 14, 2021