USB Voltage Help.

KitsuneFoxie

Joined Aug 6, 2014
Hi everyone, First time poster.

I am currently building a Laptop fan cooler and i wanted to run it from USB on my laptop with adjustable speed/voltage control.
It is housed in MDF.

I have not managed to find anything really with a diagram showing me how to make it. I'm a novice at electronics, but i know how to solder and such, just not the resistors/voltage changers/etc i would need to achieve it.

Essentially i want to change 5vv to 12 and then from that to the adjuster, then to the fans.. thing is i don't know how/what i'd need to build the circuit and need a diagram of how to put it together.

I've drawn up a picture of what i want to do so you guys can grasp the idea i have and possibly be able to provide help to my project :>

Attachments

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
Use PWM to control speed.
from the few times I tried it with typical modern computer fans they don't like PWM.. It messed up the internal sensors.. and they just won't start/stall/hum..
But others work just fine with it.
I've found with 12V fans that you can usually go down to about 5V and get all the needed speed control without having to resort to PWM.

KitsuneFoxie

Joined Aug 6, 2014
from the few times I tried it with typical modern computer fans they don't like PWM.. It messed up the internal sensors.. and they just won't start/stall/hum..
But others work just fine with it.
I've found with 12V fans that you can usually go down to about 5V and get all the needed speed control without having to resort to PWM.

Yeah, but how would i go about wiring it up? If you would'nt mind drawing it on the diagram i posted i'd be greatful. It's just helps me know where to position/wire up the LM317. And i use 3 pin or molex Fans.

Thanks!

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009