Understanding how to use high side switching to control a 12v car led bulb with an Arduino

Ping pong

Joined Feb 13, 2022
I want to control my car led bulb so that they turn on with a fading effect using the pwm pins on an Arduino.

For context, the led bulb is dual filament so it works as a turn signal and DRL, both sharing their grounds from a single wire.
I have been suggested to use a high side switching circuit instead of a low side as I can only control the DRL (the bit I want the fade effect on) using the positive wire rather than ground.

All the tutorials online however are for low side switching using a N channel MOSFET. I did find a video online that uses a P channel MOSFET only (link attached below) but I have been told that a N channel MOSFET is required to drive the P channel MOSFET with Arduino.

I'm confused in what approach I should take and how I should go around wiring everything together. Please do note that I'm an accounts student and have little knowledge about electronics other than just the basics. MOSFETs are new to me hence why any help will be very much appreciated :)

• Link to the YT video:

• The LED Bulbs I'm using:
https://a.aliexpress.com/_mMwRJPQ

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
A P-channel MOSFET switching a 12V circuit needs 12V to turn off. Since an Arduino can only output 0 or 5V, it cannot directly control the MOSFET. You need a level translator transistor, NPN or N-channel MOSFET in between.

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Use a MCP1401.
You could even use a 555, by putting a resistor from pin 5 to ground to set the thresholds lower, then input on pins 2 and 6, output on pin 3 to drive the MOSFET.
A CMOS 555 would definitely work, a NE555 can only get to 1.5V below the V+ supply, but that should turn off most P-channel MOSFETs.

Ping pong

Joined Feb 13, 2022
Here's a typical circuit for high-side drive with a P-MOSFET:
R1 is the resistor that comes with the LED.
View attachment 292588