ultrasonic receiver circuit not working

masterqueen93

Joined Mar 10, 2018
Hello,
I am not very experienced with electronics but I wanted to make a ultrasonic transmitter and receiver circuit. I have a transmitter working with an arduino that generates a 40kHz signal and now I wanted to build a circuit for the receiver and. I used this circuit from https://www.pocketmagic.net/detecting-an-ultrasonic-beacon/.

When I build this circuit I get just a voltage around 4.5V at the signal pin, which should be between 0 and 5V. But if I move the transmitter further away the voltage doesn't change. Then I tried measuring before the diode, just the same(well the voltage is a bit higher) it doesn't change here either. Then I measured at the base of T2 and there is a signal on my scope, the voltage that it reads out is 0.44V at Vmax and the Vrms is 1.73V. this is also the same for when I measure at the base of T1 where signal comes in from the receiver, but here the voltage does change when I move the transmitter.
Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? The circuit should work as it shows on the website.

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
It is quite possible that you could have destroyed T2. If the potentiometer VR was turned to the point where the slider is at the base end of the track it would connect 5 volts straight across the bese emitter junction of T2 which would destroy it. I suggest that you add a resistor (Between 10K and 56K) between the bottom of the potentiometer and the base of T2 to limit the current to a safe value before you replace T2 to avoid destroying another transistor. Just because something is on a website does not mean it is correct.

Les.

masterqueen93

Joined Mar 10, 2018
Thanks for your reply.
I did put a 560K resistor in stead of the potentiometer, should have mentioned it. I also replace the T2 but stil the same results.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013